Kev’s Betting Tips – Week 2


Take one average League of Ireland fan, a handful of change, a photo ID and a bookmakers, and you have yourself a challenge!

Each week I’ll be giving my top tips on selected League of Ireland games over the weekend for those of you who fancy a flutter on our national league. I’ll be seeing how I get on every weekend with my chosen three euro bet and will keep tabs as the season progresses! I can’t promise you that any of my picks will be right, or you’ll ever hold a winning receipt in your hand, but I can promise you some consolation when you see me failing just as badly!

Cork City v Drogheda United

Following last week’s defeats, both sides will be looking to get their first win of the season, under pressure to validate their Premier Division status for another year. The Leesiders also have the added pressure of performing in front of their home fans following last week’s disappointing loss away to UCD. What was evident from that game was Tommy Dunne’s side’s complete lack of communication and coherence, playing as 11 individuals who happened to be wearing red. Drogheda by all accounts were left short-changed following the Shamrock Rovers game, as Gary Twigg’s brace denied the Boynesiders a hard-worked point. With City’s non-existent front line battling a Drogheda side who will most likely be looking for the point away from home, a draw seems like the most likely outcome
My bet: Draw (12/5)

Dundalk v St. Patrick’s Athletic

Unusual for me to call two draws in the one weekend but for a half-time caster this has all the makings of it. The Dawk played outa fairly un-eventful nil all draw with Monaghan last time out while Pats only just got the better of Bray at home. Neither games saw many goals, while both sides will be looking at their defences as the driving force behind their success. No goals by half-time is worth a punt!

My bet: HT Score 0-0 (7/5)

SD Galway v Wexford Youths

Having smashed six past Waterford last week, Noel O’Connor’s Wexford side will be supremely confident about their clash against SD Galway. Tom Elmes scored four that night, as Wexford tore a Waterford team who were tipped for second place to shreds. In stark contrast, last year’s wooden spoon team SD Galway lost away to Athlone United last weekend and by all accounts were not all that impressive! Wexford are the away team which I thought would make them shorter at odds on but it’s even better than I thought. GET ON THIS BET!
My Bet: Wexford win (13/10)

My Bet for the Weekend

Leave a Reply

