Kev’s Betting Tips – Week 4


So, two out of four last week ain’t bad! Gary Twigg broke mine and about 4,000 other hearts when he nodded in the 94th minute to rescue a point for Rovers, while Philly Hughes was the only man to hit the net as Shels beat Derry. As for me, another three euro down the swanny as my unrelenting faith in Wexford was punished, but alas, I have a good feeling about this weekend, the one weekend that I actually won’t be live at a game (City hitting the long road to Derry as I type). So here comes another batch of tips, fresh out of the oven!

Bray Wanderers v Drogheda United

Jason Byrne, back at the Carlisle Grounds this season

So my result bets weren’t very successful last weekend but there’s little on offer this week in the Premier. With Bray winning last week, and Drogheda battling bravely in their first three games, these sides are fairly well matched going into tomorrow night’s game at the Carslile Grounds. A draw is better than 2 so I’m going with that.

My bet: Draw (9/4)

Dundalk v UCD

I see the Lilywhites picking up their first win of the season in this one; despite earlier disappointing results against Monaghan and Drogheda, Sean McCaffrey’s men will be expecting to overpower a UCD side that have looked very sloppy, even during their 1-0 win on the opening day against Cork City. Dundalk need to notch a goal though, and will be looking to Michael Rafter for that. Fairly even odds between UCD and Dundalk for the win, so for me it’s gotta be the Lilywhites.

My Bet: Dundalk (6/4)

Bohemians v St. Patrick’s Athletic

Sunday’s live game pits two teams at opposite ends of the spectrum; Bohs stand at the foot of the table, having failed to pick up a point so far, or score a goal for that matter, while for Pat’s, two early wins have been let down by a disappointing draw against Monaghan. Nevertheless, Liam Buckley’s side will be expecting to make it three from four in front of the RTE cameras.

My Bet: St Patrick’s Athletic (11/10)

Your boys better not bloody well let me down again Wallace!

Finn Harps v Wexford

When will I learn? I’m on the trail for glory in pink once more. I was going to advise a cheeky bet on a draw between Waterford and Longford, but thought against it. So once again I’m advising Wexford! Harps had a disappointing loss away to Athlone last time, and while Wexford let me down, they pluckily fought against a Longford side that’s top of the league, but just lost out in the end. I think 9/4 is a great price for the Youths.

My Bet: Wexford Youths (9/4)

My Bet

My bet is a combination of two aforementioned games. For me, it’s gotta be St. Pats and Wexford again. So I’m splitting my three euro this time. Two on Pats to win, and one on Pats and Wexford to win!

Other Games:

Derry City v Cork City
Limerick v SD Galway
Mervue v Athlone
Shamrock Rovers v Shelbourne
Longford v Waterford

Leave a Reply

